givemespoons:

Rhodey + Leg Braces

Rhodey wears leg braces. There’s an entire community of people (myself included) that wear leg braces, but rarely see any representation in movies/TV, ect.

Yes, there’s prosethics and hand/knee braces seen in the entertainment industry (commonly used when someone is injured and may recover) but I have only ever seen 1 well known film depict leg braces. Forrest Gump.

I love Forrest Gump, and understand the time period differences. But he wears polio leg braces, something not as common nowadays.

And he does something I’ve dreamed of: he doesn’t need them anymore. He “runs” them off. As if I work harder, I won’t need the braces I’ve worn all my life. Like the leg braces are a choice.

Furthermore, Gump wears KAFOs, Knee Ankle Foot Orthotic. Rhodey wears HKAFOs, Hip Knee Ankle Foot Orthotics. Hiding leg braces isn’t always easy, or possible- but many are taught to be ashamed of their assistive device. Rhodey gets them after he’s injured in Civil War- and he doesn’t hide his under baggy jeans. He wears them OBVIOUSLY. Out for everyone to see. That sends a message of “You don’t have to be ashamed of them. They’re meant to help you. Help correct gait, manage pain, improve mobility. They’re not necessarily a BAD thing. You don’t HAVE to hide them.

As I child I faced many questions: “what are those?” “What happened to you?” “What’s wrong with your legs/knees/body?” “Those look like shin guards, do you play soccer?” (They’d be embarrassed after I explained the braces are a medical device to help me walk, and that I can’t run, let alone play soccer) Many people know what a wheelchair, a walker, a cast (from a broken bone), or a cane are. Very, very few know what a leg brace is.

For me, Rhodey gives me representation I’ve never had. In ways I’ve never seen or heard of before, he’s a superhero like ME. No one I know is talking about how important this is to so many kids. To say “he’s got leg braces too mommy look!!!” When a bully sneers at whatever those weird things are- -the child can say “It’s ok, I’m like the War Machine from Marvel.”

This teaches able-bodied kids about a real life difference they’ve probably not seen before. This shows disabled kids that it’s ok, you’re not alone, there are people just like you.

Don Cheadle is my superhero for playing a character that has a small role with a big impact.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close